Atik Cameras Forum

Support (Please note, this is primarily a user forum, for direct Atik support, please email support@atik-cameras.com) => Atik Horizon => Topic started by: robedude on April 01, 2019, 02:59:39 AM

Title: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: robedude on April 01, 2019, 02:59:39 AM
I recently downloaded the latest Atik Core software to give the new Dusk program a shot. After downloading the new update and installing dusk, driver updates, and an Infinity update a slew of major issues completely preventing me from imaging arose which could not be resolved even after completely uninstalling the software and rolling back to the version I was previously on (Version 4.2.2.9.

The new software made it so that my Atik Horizon OSC was not even recognized by Atik Infinity software. I just said connecting indefinitely. Sharpcap was able to use the new driver, but I do my live stacking with Infinity. I then uninstalled the whole new core package from the windows program uninstall menu and reinstall my old core version. After reinstalling 4.2.2.9 the Horizon OSC is recognized by Infinity but does not work at all. It tries to take an exposure and says updating for about 30 extra seconds after the exposure bar is fully green, the software completely freezes and errors, then it shows the exposure which is completely corrupted. It just keeps freezing for about a half minute after each exposure then pushing a corrupted image to the stack. See attach image below:

Other people on the forums said they had success restoring functionality with their Horizon OSC by uninstalling the Atik Core software and uninstalling ASCOM then reinstalling everything again. I tried this and had no success.

The latest software is severely broken for the Horzion OSC. Why would a software be pushed publicly that is this glitched? Any advice on resolving my issues is much appreciated.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on April 01, 2019, 11:13:51 AM
Hi Phil,

Last night I had my Horizon OSC version 5.0.0.4 working with Sequence Generator Pro and SharpCap - but in MONO ONLY, but it refused to connect to Infinity.

There are still some issues with SG Pro/Sharpcap, but that could be just me. However, I see this particular ASCOM driver has 'CCD 'in its title....which probably gives us a hint where the broader issue might lie. The Histograms didn't respond (which was the original problem that I reported with Sharpcap last month). Control wasn't good enough to continue and by the time I got fed up, I was beaten by cloud.

This morning, I reinstalled 4.2.2.9. Now SG Pro won't work, but Infinity does!

Quite clearly the problem is that they require different ASCOM drivers or at least some process to identify CCD or CMOS. The fact that other Atik camera owners are not moaning in the forums perhaps suggests this is strictly a problem for the CMOS Horizon (yet again).

However, I have an idea that may help you. When I reinstalled 4.2.2.9 I did NOT prior uninstall 5.0.0.4. I just allowed 4.2.2.9 to find the incompatible components and close them. Interestingly, the Camera Register features here, perhaps suggesting this is an issue of camera identity/registration.

The other thought is that you must specifically select <install drivers> and <install ASCOM drivers>. The default for these boxes are unchecked in the 4.2.2.9 download wizard and the required drivers won't get installed if unchecked. It is very easy to miss the ASCOM as they are right at the bottom of the list. If in doubt, I suggest just tick everything. My guess is that since mine works and yours doesn't this is probably the issue and your drivers have gone AWOL. But it is clear that people are wise to avoid 5.0.0.4 until this is fixed.




Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Phil HD925 on April 01, 2019, 02:02:03 PM
Yep, that image you posted, I was getting exactly the same thing after rolling back to the previous version of the core software (pre Dusk).  The only way I got rid of that was by updating the ASCOM platform to the latest  (6.4 SP1).  That could have been a fluke fix though, so not sure if this would work for everyone. 
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on April 01, 2019, 03:33:39 PM
Version 5.0.0.6 has been release today. We seem to have skipped 5.0.0.4.

In a daylight test I have managed to connect my Horizon OSC in Infinity, SG Pro and Sharpcap. However, I am not convinced the camera was capturing any data in Infinity as the histogram was unresponsive and said "no data" when I pointed to the sliders. But I think the required functionality is there in Sharpcap and SG Pro. Am hoping for some clear sky tonight to properly test all, but it looks like encouraging progress.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: amekassa12 on August 07, 2019, 05:06:24 PM
Version 5.0.0.6 has been release today. We seem to have skipped 5.0.0.4.

In a daylight test I have managed to connect my Horizon OSC in Infinity, SG Pro and Sharpcap. However, I am not convinced the camera was capturing any data in Infinity as the histogram was unresponsive and said "no data" when I pointed to the sliders. But I think the required functionality is there in Sharpcap and SG Pro. Am hoping for some clear sky tonight to properly test all, but it looks like encouraging progress.my ip (https://myip.kim/) birthday wishes (https://birthdaywishes.onl/) tneb (https://elecpay.in/tneb/)

Other people on the forums said they had success restoring functionality with their Horizon OSC by uninstalling the Atik Core software and uninstalling ASCOM then reinstalling everything again. I tried this and had no success.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: chakel on August 08, 2019, 07:46:28 PM
Check out the Download section. The core SW has just been updated to 5.0.1.6 today. I hope to test it this evening with my OCS Horizon.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: nitehawk on August 09, 2019, 05:57:35 AM
Check out the Download section. The core SW has just been updated to 5.0.1.6 today. I hope to test it this evening with my OCS Horizon.

Thanks for this heads up. I had installed the software yesterday and couldn't even connect to the camera.  (the camera still doesn't work right, but at least this is progress. I commented on this in a different post.)

Does anyone know if Atik has a mailing list of driver updates. It would be nice to get these before heading out into the field and being frustrated.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: scottsen11 on August 12, 2019, 02:45:16 PM
I just set a scehdule to upgrade 18 SMs and 1 AP (same tower) at 3:00am on Monday July 15. It took the schedule and I verified the information was correct in the scheduled jobs window. 10 minutes later, I get alerted that my radio is off line. It went ahead and ran the schedule 5 minutes after I set it to run 2 days from now. shareit apk (https://droidmoda.com/shareit-apk-2)
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on August 25, 2019, 06:35:30 PM
So I took delivery of a new Horizon mono earlier this week and had an opportunity to test it out under some pretty good sky conditions. I thought I'd share my experience so far before after downloading the latest Core software 5.0.1.6 released August 8th.

Up until buying the new camera I had been using the 4.2.2.9 Core package running my Horizon OSC. Functionality was fine as I was only using Atik software for my imaging sessions. However, the new mono camera apparently had issues with that Core version:

--When live stacking in Infinity and using a fully zoomed out
   view, I noticed a "window screen" pattern covering the
   entire image even after about half an hour of stacking. The
   effect went away with any level of zooming in. The effect
   also carried through to the saved images when
   viewed later.

--There was also a problem with the saved FIT files as they
   could not be read by Nebulosity, etc.

I decided to then download the latest Core package and had the following results:

--The new camera connects and functions OK with Infinity
   and great with Artemis. Not so much for Dusk as it seems
   to be locked up after making some settings after the initial
   download.

 --I'm still getting the "window screen" effect in Infinity.
   Anyone have any experience with that? Also, exposure,
   gain and other settings are not retained and have to be
   reentered in the next Infinity session.

--FIT files are now readable and I am very pleased with my
  initial images with the new camera! Again, I have not used
  camera with any third party software but I hope to soon.

Thanks!
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: eyegore on August 25, 2019, 08:44:42 PM
 I just updated to Atik Universal 5.0.1.6 with associated ASCOM drivers and DUSK software.
 The Horizon camera connects and works well so far in Infinity and in DUSK, but when attempting to connect in Sharpcap Pro the ASCOM chooser appears corrupted. The OK and CANCEL buttons are partial and unresponsive, and therefore the software will not connect, either in Atik Camera or Atik Camera 2.
 It's not a big deal, though I would like the ability to use flats and darks during live stacking, that is, if the ASCOM drivers are ever enabled to perform those functions!
Neil
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on August 25, 2019, 09:05:06 PM
Hi Neil

I wondered about the ASCOM drivers as I was not able to see any details of the drivers in ASCOM Profile Explorer. SC functionality would be nice for the reason you mentioned.

Did you happen to notice any of the "window screen" effect when zoomed out in Infinity? Just trying to determine if its camera or software related. Thanks!
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: eyegore on August 25, 2019, 11:04:23 PM
I tested the Horizon only in daylight this morning so far, but did not notice the window screen effect in Infinity or Dusk  at that time.....I was not using any zoom, though.
 I have seen the effect, though, on the few occasions I was able to get images in SC on the Horizon with what I assume must have been previous versions of the ASCOM drivers supplied with previous versions of the core software. I don't know if it was due to maybe de-bayer issues or not. At any rate, I cannot connect at all now.
Neil
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on August 25, 2019, 11:21:44 PM
Thanks Neil...I appreciate your insight. I've contacted Support about it...might very well be a debayer issue although I haven't noticed the effect with my Horizon OSC on the same software. Let's hope the next release solves the ASCOM driver issue with SC!
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on August 27, 2019, 06:54:27 PM
Neil-

Fingers crossed but I just hooked up the new Horizon to Sharpcap (latest free version) in a daytime test selecting Atik Cameras 2...and it works! Snapshots, frames, cooling, histogram adjustments, stacking (without alignment of course) saving etc. appear to be responding. The Horizon was using the drivers that downloaded with the 5.0.1.6 Core package last week. Never been able to do this before...maybe it's in part due to the latest SC update? I'll report back after actual field use but progress has been made here.

Hope it helps!
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: eyegore on August 28, 2019, 02:29:37 AM
Thank you, Craig!
 I tried updating the SC software today and the Horizon now connects and cools properly. Dark frames seem to apply ok. I noticed that whatever output choice is made the only color space available is Mono16. Color display still works if forced. I haven't tried stacking yet but will report back on that and flat frame function.
Neil
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on August 28, 2019, 02:38:34 AM
Whoo hoo! That's great news Neil...looking forward to your report!
Best wishes,
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on September 20, 2019, 01:55:01 AM
Hi Neil!

I noticed the same SC Mono 16 color space limitation when using my Horizon OSC. Have you had a chance to try live stacking yet?
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on October 03, 2019, 01:38:59 AM
Hi Neil!
I just installed and indoor tested the latest Core version 5.0.2.0 dated October 2, 2019. The SharpCap color space with my Horizon OSC now shows RAW16. The live stack histogram is also showing color lines so good news so far!
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on December 24, 2019, 05:03:22 PM
Excuse the duplicate post (also in ASCOM Atik1 or Atik2 Driver question)...

Due to the shocking weather and being away on recent rare clear nights, I have not been out since the Driver issues were fixed (October?) for the benefit of Sharpcap users. Today in test I managed to get Sequence Generator Pro to hook up to my Atik Horizon and thought reporting this further success might help members of our community.

However, I found that I needed to fully boot up my Intel NUC, then connect camera, then open SG Pro. If I connected the camera before booting up the computer it wouldn't recognise the camera was present. You then need to click on camera settings and select Atik Horizon 129.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Eleventeen on December 30, 2019, 05:02:01 PM
I am also having the same problem, I haven't tried updating the New Core Software to 5.0.1.6 and I'm gonna try it now, hope it will fix it.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on January 23, 2020, 10:19:42 AM
Been recently suffering from some weird 'freezes', even in Infinity. Am using only a short 1.8M USB3 cable directly to an Intel NUC, so that isn't the issue. However, have just upgraded to the latest core software  (15th January 2020) which seems to be more stable in daylight test and presumably is to support the Atik Horizon II's fast frame mode. The Horizon issues with the core software were outstanding for for too long. Fortunately, it coincided with the worst period of continuous cloud I have ever encountered. Now keen to get out again, and hopefully, all will be fine.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 03, 2020, 09:31:11 PM
Tried some more daylight (pinhole camera) tests today, continued to suffer some crashes when using Infinity.  This is frustrating as prior to 5.0.0.4 it worked perfectly, albeit not in Sharpcap and Sequence Generator Pro.

So, updated Windows 10 Pro, then noticed Atik has issued yet another new core software update 29th January 2020 to version 5.0.4.6. Have downloaded that today, and it seems to be more stable than the previous version in a daylight test. Hoping for some clear skies after 21:00 tonight to test properly.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 03, 2020, 10:16:53 PM
Thanks for your post! I've been humming along with the 5.0.2.0 version since December and have had only intermittent crashes in Infinity. SharpCap however seems to work very well with both my Horizons. Not very much testing with the weather situation here since the first of the year but hope springs eternal!

Maybe let us know how your testing of 5.0.4.6 goes if you get a chance?
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 05, 2020, 03:57:35 PM
Weather in Essex has been horrible for months. The promised clear sky's last night didn't materialise so I could not test under night conditions. However,  checking the core software Change Log it does mention that the latest version resolves a "Horizon connection issue". This sounds positive and yesterday's daylight test was encouraging.

To be frank, I initially had trouble with the original Horizon's rather flimsy micro B USB connector. Atik promptly replaced that under warranty with a regular USB B connector. However, I discovered that if I ever used a USB3 cable longer than 1.8M I had  connectivity issues despite using a quality Tracer 12v 22Ah battery. But it all worked fine with a high quality shielded 1.8M USB3 cable until core software version 5.0.0.4, which I believe was when Atik first attempted to embrace SharpCap and Sequence Generator Pro with a CMOS camera. After that,  Infinity software repeatedly started to crash, notably soon after initial connection.

Thinking I might have USB power issues (which I have encountered before), I did experiment with active cables and powered hubs without much success. Interestingly, things did improve after switching from three seperate 'bricks' to a single 240v/12v 10 Amp (120 watt) AC/DC adapter, now powering camera (circa 24 watts?), focus controller (24 watts?)  and my Intel NUC (65 watts?). Having access to slightly higher wattage than the aggregate rating of their individual 'bricks' does seem to have benefited all devices. Frankly, I am wondering if my original Atik supplied AC/DC adapter was a little short of watts to power bith it and USB3 cables? But my rig seems to be thriving now and a few spare amps won't hurt.

I progressively tried each new incarnation of core software in daylight test. It is fortunate that the weather has been awful, else I might have been fairly angry, as none have worked well in Infinity, albeit improvements were noticeable in Sequence Generator Pro. However, the latest version 5.0.4.6 does seem to be encouraging in daylight test. Just need to get outdoors again!
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 06, 2020, 08:57:12 PM
Been using version 5.0.4.6 tonight. Still suffering from some camera disconnections and crashes. Have reported issue direct to Atik Support. Shame, as in daylight test I thought we were getting somewhere.

EDIT - Think I have resolved this - probably not attributable to camera/software....

Have just switched to an Ethernet cable between my two Intel NUCs. My Horizon now seems to be performing OK. I suspect the issue might be that my Win 10 Pro remote desktop WiFi network (for remote control) was not as stable as I thought. Hence it could be that Infinity was simply waiting for commands that were being interrupted by "lost packets". It's really odd as six months ago my WiFi network was 100% stable. But this looks encouraging and suggest 5.0.4.6 is actually OK.


Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 07, 2020, 01:50:58 AM
Good to hear Noah!
-Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 12, 2020, 01:20:40 PM
Have had further conversations with Atik Support, that explain why I have had a few woes, lock ups and crashes with Infinity that were not resolved by deleting the old and reinstalling the latest core software and ASCOM Platform.

Eventually, we deleted a folder called 'Settings' which is a 'hidden file' deep within the Atik 'Program Data'. Somehow, the local data within this had become corrupted, but the folder is not cleared by uninstalling. My guess is that this occured when my Intel NUC crashed due to a power supply failure issue, after which Infinity software had long been sluggish (but Sequence Generator Pro worked fine). Frankly, I attibuted this to problems with my remote controlled wireless network. It appears that current local settings data gets reinstalled when you open Infinity, but if there is past corrupt data that Windows is unfortunately retaining it can cause problems.  Now my Infinity software/Horizon seems to be flying along (core software version 5.0.4.7)

 Brilliant service from Atik Support as I would never have worked out this unusual issue for myself!

Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 12, 2020, 01:36:53 PM
Interesting!
I wonder if this "Settings" file is also causing a problem that I have with Dusk? My camera connection button is somehow corrupted and uninstall/reinstall does not bring it back. So, specifically, how do you locate this deep Settings file after you've uninstalled the overall program?

Thanks Noah!
Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 12, 2020, 04:26:40 PM
At your own risk Craig!  But I suspect it might be a similar data corruption issue...

This particular <settings> folder is wholly related to Infinity software. But I notice a similarly labelled folder in Dusk. It might be wise to phone Andrew at Atik Support saying that you have this problem and to double check if it is a likely solution for your similar display corruption issue in Dusk.

The Infinity <Settings> folder is in the path Local Disc C: > ProgramData > Atik > Infinity > Settings. But you need to check 'show hidden files' else the final leg is hidden. We deleted the <Settings> folder from this path and it fixed my corrupt display issue as the folder was then recreated with new data with current integrity on the next opening of Infinity.

One suspects that Dusk <settings> probably works in the same way and deletion of its similar file might fix any corruption of Dusk.  But as it is a 'hidden' file, not intended for user meddling, I do think it is best that you check with Atik. Although if you did delete it, my guess it should be recreated as new on a fresh installation of the core software. But best you call Andrew to check!

Regards

Phil (Noah4x4).

Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 12, 2020, 05:45:25 PM
All good advice Phil! I had my initial support ticket contact with Andrew so your experience is very timely. Glad to hear that things are running smoothly again for you! I haven't been able to image anything for so long now that I hope I remember how to do things when conditions improve...

Best Wishes,
Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: vince on February 13, 2020, 11:06:39 AM
Hi Craig,

It won't do any harm deleting the contents of this folder as it will be rebuilt the next time Dusk is launched, it will clear the existing program settings.

Best regards
Vince
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 13, 2020, 11:14:27 AM
Hi Vince!
I'll give it a try and report back.

Thanks!
Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 13, 2020, 12:38:43 PM
That did the trick! I just deleted the Settings file and the Dusk camera button functionality came back with the first restart. Everything else looks good so far before further testing.

Thanks SO much Phil and Vince...this really made my day! Whoo hoo!

Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 13, 2020, 12:41:14 PM
Fingers crossed for you Craig.

I first suffered from this problem after installing 5.0.0.4, but with hindsight, it could all be coincidence. However, I recall eseeing exactly the same locked up (Infinity) screen that could not be cleared by Task Manager. Ultimately, I did a tedious complete restore of Windows 10 Pro and reinstalled all software. I guess this step must have cleared out the corrupt <settings> folder.

I then had another computing/power crash. BTW, am not blaming Atik! It was at a time when I was experimenting with different WiFi and Power options for my remote controlled EAA rig. I repeatedly updated my Atik core software (there have been many iterations) and Infinity/Horizon ran sluggish and often disconnected. However, Sequence Generator Pro ran fine.

Then, I noticed in the Change Log that 5.0.4.6 fixed a "Horizon disconnection" problem.  So I downloaded that and then 5.0.4.7. By coincidence, I had another power glitch (local power cut due to high winds). Infinity locked up with the same screen that I first saw in April. I tried a complete reinstall, but stopped short of a Window restore. I had a chat with Andrew, he spoke with the software guys. This issue was fixed simply by deleting the <settings file> under ProgramData > Atik > Infinity > and allowing the software to restore it. No need to fully restore Windows. My Infinity/Horizon is now running in true "real time" and all my long woes seemingly gone.

If Vince or Andrew are picking up this thread, it might be an idea to try to find a way to ensure that any corrupt local <settings> data is cleaned out on any software update or reinstall. In my experience, Windows does seem to want to hang onto it (like it has done in the past with redundant drivers).  Good luck Craig, but I think this might also work in Dusk. ...
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 13, 2020, 12:48:44 PM
Craig, your post overtook mine. I share your delight as this has been ongoing for both of us.

Vince/Andrew, this issue does need looking at because power and WiFi glitches are common amongst those of us that dabble with remote control etc. Surely, there must be a way of automatically clearing out the <settings> folder on any core software reinstallation as that is the instinctive step most users take when problems arise. OK, could issue a simple instruction about how to fix this manually. But as it is a 'hidden' folder that is less desirable.

This has made my and Craig's day!
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: chakel on February 13, 2020, 06:22:11 PM
Great work gentlemen!
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on February 20, 2020, 06:43:12 PM
As I reported previously , the latest incarnation of Atik core software appears to work fine, whilst my computers performance continued to be occasionally troublesome. Took me a while to identify the issue, but I have resolved this simply by increasing the RAM in my NUC.

I realise that this is an obvious solution with hindsight, but when Infinity previously worked fine a lack of resources is not one's first thought. Evidently something unknown has been pushing my resources beyond it limits (probably some Windows 10 rubbish). It might worth others upgrading RAM if they perceive any slow performance. I reckon at least 8 Gb is desirable.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on February 20, 2020, 11:33:15 PM
Thanks Phil!
-Craig

To follow-up on the hidden Settings file mystery, I sent the contents of my before and after (corrupted) Dusk Settings files for Chris at Atik to review at their request.
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: Noah4x4 on March 31, 2020, 11:15:50 PM
Just thought I would add a positive postscript to this thread....

Firstly, I have upgraded my Intel NUC to eighth generation i7 with 16 Gb RAM. At last, I am now enjoying the performance from my Atik Horizon that I always sought. It is now 100% stable with the latest Atik core software.

My conclusion is that my previous seventh generation i5 with 8 Gb RAM was the minimum desirable for single exposure AP. Once stacking, that lower specification PC will run, but somewhat slowly. The Atik Horizon clearly benefits from the extra ooomph of my upgrade to 8i7.

The latest ASCOM Driver also works fine with Sequence Generator Pro. The only nuisance is that when you connect camera, the select camera dialogue box appears behind the main application window. You need to click on its task bar icon to bring it into the foreground to select Horizon OSC. But once you are aware of this foible it is no big deal. One is also limited to the low, medium & high Gain presets. To be frank, what I have recently been doing is running autofocus in SG Pro, then switching to Atik Infinity for my EAA sessions. This combination works great and offers me the best of both worlds.

Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: CraigG on April 01, 2020, 12:13:01 AM
Good news Phil!

I'll add that I've had improved Horizon stability when I replaced my 12v "jump start" box with a full size deep cycle marine battery. Even though this power source had worked fine in the past, I found that I was having to restart my Horizon(s) multiple times during a session after they stopped producing new images even though Infinity was still running. Lesson learned...don't skimp on the power supply!

Craig
Title: Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
Post by: chakel on April 01, 2020, 03:42:16 AM
Phil and Craig,
That is great news to hear!
Cheers,
John