Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Dark Frames  (Read 1244 times)

MickM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
Dark Frames
« on: January 13, 2015, 11:32:01 PM »
This is pretty basic question but the only camera the owned was a full frame with a mechanical shutter. With an interline CCD how do you take dark frames? Do you cover the scope aperture or can this be done with the electronic shutter?

Chris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
Re: Dark Frames
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 01:19:00 PM »
I'd cover the scope.
The minimum exposure is 1/1000th sec and that could be enough to give some light signal.

Chris

NickK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 249
Re: Dark Frames
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 02:45:07 PM »
I'd cover the scope too.

The electronic shutter in interline does not stop the light hitting the CCD cells - it only moves the charge from the light sensitive CCD cell to the covered cell.
ATIK 383L+, Titan, 16IC, EFW2, OAG | Pentax 105SDP | NEQ6
Author of the ATIK OSX Drivers and AOSX - Astronomy on OSX