Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Infinity - Image Settings Help  (Read 7094 times)

tweeb

Infinity - Image Settings Help
« on: February 16, 2018, 03:15:05 pm »
Hi all,

New member.  :)

Just borrowed an Infinity to try out to see how useful it would be for our astronomy society outreach - in sunny Eastbourne!

I have been doing imaging with a modified DSLR for a few years so i am used to long-exposure astro imaging. So when I tried with the Infinity yesterday I was bit flummoxed as to how to reduce the over-exposure in M42 even using 5sec exposures. Hopefully see attached screen print. With a DSLR I would normally reduce ISO and/or exposure time - is there an equivalent to ISO (or Gain) with the Infinity? Or is the only solution to reduce exposure time until you do not get the over-exposure?

For info I was using an old Vixen 102M and an EQ6 and MacBookPro running EQMac and Stellarium, with Infinity in a Windows 10 Virtual Box VM.

Thanks for any help.

Terry

JimH123

Re: Infinity - Image Settings Help
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2018, 05:12:21 pm »
In your screen shot, I see you have the black and white sliders pulled in tight around the middle slider.  Spread them farther apart and allow the Infinity to use more of its 16-bit range.  The white slider, as it is moved left causes more and more of the light areas to go into saturation.  As it is moved right, you will recapture detail in the lighter areas.

bwa

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2018, 02:36:09 am »
So when I tried with the Infinity yesterday I was bit flummoxed as to how to reduce the over-exposure in M42 even using 5sec exposures. Hopefully see attached screen print. With a DSLR I would normally reduce ISO and/or exposure time - is there an equivalent to ISO (or Gain) with the Infinity? Or is the only solution to reduce exposure time until you do not get the over-exposure?