Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software  (Read 284 times)

anders.stange

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software
« on: October 07, 2019, 05:12:49 PM »
Hi,
I have a problem connecting two simultaneous Atik cameras to the Infinity software at start up. Only one of the cameras is initially visible in the software until I physically re-connect the USB cable of the other camera, only then both cameras are visible in the software and it is possible to switch between the two.
This is a problem for me since I try to run my setup remotely.
The cameras I use are the Atik Horizon and the Infinity camera(both color).
It used to work fine in the old 4.2.2.9 version but it has not worked with the new core software (I'm now running the latest version  from October 2nd, 5.0.2.0)
I'm on ASCOM 6.4SP1 and running the latest Windows 10 update. Both cameras are connected directly to the PC with their own USB cable. The Device manager report that libusb 1.0 is the USB driver used, and that it is the lastest version available.

I hope you can help solve this, for me, quite urgent issue.

Another, less important, issue in the latest version of the Infinity software is that it does not remember my settings when switching between the two cameras. Especially problematic is that the Exposure time and Binning values are not kept separate for the two cameras. I have to manually change the values  each time I toggle between the two.

Thanks,

Anders
« Last Edit: October 07, 2019, 05:19:56 PM by anders.stange »

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 12:13:02 PM »
Hello Andres,

Sorry about this! We will try to recreate this issue here and get back to you.

Thank you for letting us know.

Best regards
Vince

anders.stange

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2019, 08:31:05 PM »
Hi Vince,
Were you able to recreate the issue I have, or do you have any idea what may be the problem?

Thanks,
Anders

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2019, 02:15:40 PM »
Hello Anders,

I have tried this today, with two cameras connected to the Infinity software I get the choice of which camera to connect to when I hoovers the mouse over the camera as in the attached image, I assume you aren't seeing this? Do you see both cameras in device manager?

Best regards
Vince

anders.stange

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2019, 05:16:48 PM »
Hi Vince,
That is correct, I donít see this when I initially start the infinity software with both cameras already USB connected, then only one of the cameras shows up (seems random which one). At that point  I need to reconnect the usb cable of the missing camera and only then both are shown like in you picture.
Im using another set of cameras though, Infinity and Horizon. The USB connection looks ok for both cameras in the device manager from the start.

Thanks,


anders.stange

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem connecting two cameras to the Infinity software
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2019, 04:11:17 PM »
Hi again,
I spend the better part of last night and all of today to try to get my head around the problems I have described above. I never had the issues before I installed the new core software(v5). I tried to re install the old 4.2.2.9 version but the problem remains.  The workaround to get both cameras connected is to physically reconnect the usb cable to one of the cameras every time I start up the Infinity software. This is however very ineffective, especially since Iím trying to manage this from a  semi-remote location.
My whole set-up is connected to the Windows 10 laptop with a 15m, powered, USB3 extension cable which connects to a 7 port USB3 Hub which in turn connects to the mount, cameras, filter wheel and focusers. What is causing me problems  is connecting the Horizon camera. Not as a single camera, but in combination with an additional camera, eg. together with the Infinity camera as described above. Today  I also tried to run it together with my Atik 414EX, that turned out not to be possible at all. My windows 10  system did not even recognize the Horizon USB connection. The 414 connected without problems. I have made sure both cameras has ample power supply.  The Horizon even has a dedicated 5 Amps supply which is about double what it should require. I really have no idea why the Horizon can connect as a single camera but not in combination with another. Any ideas would be really helpful.

Anders