Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...  (Read 736 times)

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
... or is this something I can already do?

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2020, 01:11:44 PM »
Hello Susan,

Sorry this isn't something that can currently be done in Dusk, I can add it to our requested function in Dusk list though.

Best regards
Vince

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2020, 05:40:59 PM »
Hi Vince,

I have been using Dusk for a while now, it would be useful addition.

I could then do a low-gain on the clear-filter for luminace, medium-gain on the RGBs, and high-gain for the narrowband filters.

Thanks.

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2020, 09:30:10 PM »
Hi Vince,

Hope everyone is keeping well.

1. Would be nice in Dusk if we could have a "Number of Groups" in addition to "Number of Repeats".

2. Can we also have more that 100 for the "Number of Repeats".

I regularly do over a 1000 frames, being limited to 100 is a bit frustrating.

Thanks.

Best,
Susan.

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2020, 09:32:38 AM »
Morning Susan,

We're all keeping well thank you, hope you're OK in London.

I can certainly add them to the Dusk feature request list.

stay safe

Best regards
Vince

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2020, 02:06:21 PM »
Hi Vince,

Yes we are keeping well, thank you. And hopefully yourselves will continue to too.

For the moment I am adding filter slots, but when Dusk goes back to the first filter in position 1 the file-name it uses is the slot number, not the filter number.

Starting a LRGB sequence:

Image_1_1_1_of_100.fit
....
Image_4_4_100_of_100.fit

I then go back to the 1st filter, but get:

Image_5_5_1_of_100.fit
....
Image_8_8_100_of_100.fit

whereas it should be:

Image_5_1_1_of_100.fit
....
Image_8_4_100_of_100.fit

... surly?

Thanks :)

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2020, 01:11:51 AM »
WHO STOPS AN IMAGE COUNT AT 9999 !!!!

I HAVE LOST HALF AN HOUR OF FRAMES !!!!

============= Added the next morning ================

That was over 1800 images...

I am building up a Mosaic of consecutive 1 second images - I was NOT aware that Dusk would stop at 9999.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2020, 02:34:48 PM by susan-parker »

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2020, 02:54:32 PM »
Posted here too as to why I might want more than 9999 frames in a sequence!!!

===========================================================

First section of my mosaic from last night - shot as luminance / monochrome only, and each frame is static.

Cropped the edges, so about 800 frames worth from the first 999 frames, 1.0 seconds per frame (Horizon CMOS sensor + USB3 made this possible), high gain (30).

The centreline of the equatorial grid is at about +5.5.

The two brighter vertical stars to the right are 63 and 66 Orion, and the brightest star towards the lower-left is 8 / Epsilon Monoceros A.

Despite the short exposure time, stars in the original are visible down into magnitude 15. I have had to scale this version down to 16.5% to make it under the 600KB maximum.

I have another 9000 frames to process !!!
« Last Edit: March 28, 2020, 02:57:33 PM by susan-parker »

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2020, 12:02:28 PM »
Hello Susan,

The imaging is very interesting, that's a lot of exposures! We can increase the repeat number in the sequencer easily. Where is the 9999 limit you mention?

Best Regards
Vince

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2020, 12:40:56 PM »
Hi Vince,

Thanks.

The 9999 limit is in the main camera control window, once the image count got to 9999 it just stayed there and repeatedly saved each image to the same file name!!!  Otherwise it would have been up somewhere around 11800 frames.

Of course the time to stack 9849 frames is in days (particularly as I have to put my computer to sleep overnight as my daytime workbench is in our bedroom). Currently with 6591 more to process in the registration phase. 

Best,
Susan.

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2020, 02:09:30 PM »
Hi Susan,

Chris has updated this and it will be in the next update for Dusk, he has a couple of other updates to include too. It will be released as soon as they are ready.

Bets regards
Vince

susan-parker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Dusk - Setting gain as well as exposure-time for each filter-slot...
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2020, 04:25:08 PM »
Hi Vince (and Chris),

Awesome :)

Many thanks.

Best,
Susan.