Atik Cameras Forum

Support (Please note, this is primarily a user forum, for direct Atik support, please email support@atik-cameras.com) => Software and Everything Else => Topic started by: AndrewCool on May 08, 2014, 03:34:42 AM

Title: Change internal name of camera?
Post by: AndrewCool on May 08, 2014, 03:34:42 AM
Hi All,

Rather than have ASCOM report the internal serial number of my two Atik 4000 cameras, I'd like to change their internal id to the name of the filter I use, e.g. "OXY" and "Ha."

Is that possible?

It would make it so much easier to know which camera I'm connecting to... ;-)


Andrew
Title: Re: Change internal name of camera?
Post by: Chris on May 08, 2014, 11:26:37 AM
What would happen if the filter was changed?

The camera name is intended to be a fixed property that does not change.

It might be possible to allow the camera name to be set in the setup dialog for the camera.

This is off the top of my head, I wrote the driver but haven't done any sort of analysis of if this is possible.  It could easily be quite a lot of work because the driver needs to know which camera to connect to and that needs a USB ID.

Chris
Title: Re: Change internal name of camera?
Post by: AndrewCool on May 13, 2014, 03:28:16 AM
>What would happen if the filter was changed?

The Atik 4000's are part of scientific airglow imagers, of which we have two.
Each has its own $5000 filter, so no problem wrt swapping filters.

>  It could easily be quite a lot of work because the driver needs to know which camera to connect to >and that needs a USB ID.

OK, I appreciate that. We're a bit of a special case, and expending a lot of effort on that small "nice" feature probably is not warranted.

Thanks anyway.

Andrew
www.skippysky.com.au

 
Title: Re: Change internal name of camera?
Post by: NickK on May 13, 2014, 08:47:01 AM
Probably only way would be to flash the firmware with two versions with different names.

Only thing is if there's any software that uses the name to identify the type of camera.