Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Judging exposure length  (Read 11774 times)

vorkus

Judging exposure length
« on: May 21, 2012, 02:48:43 pm »
I recently purchased a 383L+ mono.  I have a lot of experience using Canon DSLRs.  I know how to judge proper exposure with a DSLR but not with the 383.  The Artemis software doesn't seem to have a histogram to look at.  I've tried judging using the values for black/white with autostretch turned on as well as playing with the sliders.  With my 1000D, a typical target at home (orange zone), I can't go past 2 minute exposures (1600 ISO).  I took 5 minute exposures last night with the 383, but didn't seem to over saturate the image.  What is the best way to assess adequate exposure?  Thanks for your help.

John

timwebster

• Astronomy Imaging from Shropshire
Re: Judging exposure length
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2012, 04:04:31 pm »
So many factors (temperature,binning,f ratio of scope, brightness of object, guiding accuracy) involved it is difficult to judge, however you can achieve much longer exposures with a cooled CCD than a DSLR.
In general I image at -20c, use 2x2 binning (especially with my C8 telescope) and for fainter objects  use 5min subs.
Could probably do longer subs but if an image is ruined by satellites, planes, clouds or bad tracking at least you have only wasted 5mins imaging time rather than more.
With brighter objects (globular clusters, M42 etc) I find 1 or 2 min subs are adequate.
I think there are debates whether using fewer longer subs is better or if using more shorter subs  result in better signal to noise ratio.
Hope that helps, Tim
383L+ mono, EFW1, Celestron C8, Skywatcher ED80, EQ6Pro

vorkus

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2012, 04:37:28 pm »