Atik Cameras

Author Topic: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC  (Read 217 times)

robedude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
« on: April 01, 2019, 02:59:39 AM »
I recently downloaded the latest Atik Core software to give the new Dusk program a shot. After downloading the new update and installing dusk, driver updates, and an Infinity update a slew of major issues completely preventing me from imaging arose which could not be resolved even after completely uninstalling the software and rolling back to the version I was previously on (Version 4.2.2.9.

The new software made it so that my Atik Horizon OSC was not even recognized by Atik Infinity software. I just said connecting indefinitely. Sharpcap was able to use the new driver, but I do my live stacking with Infinity. I then uninstalled the whole new core package from the windows program uninstall menu and reinstall my old core version. After reinstalling 4.2.2.9 the Horizon OSC is recognized by Infinity but does not work at all. It tries to take an exposure and says updating for about 30 extra seconds after the exposure bar is fully green, the software completely freezes and errors, then it shows the exposure which is completely corrupted. It just keeps freezing for about a half minute after each exposure then pushing a corrupted image to the stack. See attach image below:

Other people on the forums said they had success restoring functionality with their Horizon OSC by uninstalling the Atik Core software and uninstalling ASCOM then reinstalling everything again. I tried this and had no success.

The latest software is severely broken for the Horzion OSC. Why would a software be pushed publicly that is this glitched? Any advice on resolving my issues is much appreciated.

Noah4x4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2019, 11:13:51 AM »
Hi Phil,

Last night I had my Horizon OSC version 5.0.0.4 working with Sequence Generator Pro and SharpCap - but in MONO ONLY, but it refused to connect to Infinity.

There are still some issues with SG Pro/Sharpcap, but that could be just me. However, I see this particular ASCOM driver has 'CCD 'in its title....which probably gives us a hint where the broader issue might lie. The Histograms didn't respond (which was the original problem that I reported with Sharpcap last month). Control wasn't good enough to continue and by the time I got fed up, I was beaten by cloud.

This morning, I reinstalled 4.2.2.9. Now SG Pro won't work, but Infinity does!

Quite clearly the problem is that they require different ASCOM drivers or at least some process to identify CCD or CMOS. The fact that other Atik camera owners are not moaning in the forums perhaps suggests this is strictly a problem for the CMOS Horizon (yet again).

However, I have an idea that may help you. When I reinstalled 4.2.2.9 I did NOT prior uninstall 5.0.0.4. I just allowed 4.2.2.9 to find the incompatible components and close them. Interestingly, the Camera Register features here, perhaps suggesting this is an issue of camera identity/registration.

The other thought is that you must specifically select <install drivers> and <install ASCOM drivers>. The default for these boxes are unchecked in the 4.2.2.9 download wizard and the required drivers won't get installed if unchecked. It is very easy to miss the ASCOM as they are right at the bottom of the list. If in doubt, I suggest just tick everything. My guess is that since mine works and yours doesn't this is probably the issue and your drivers have gone AWOL. But it is clear that people are wise to avoid 5.0.0.4 until this is fixed.




« Last Edit: April 01, 2019, 11:16:54 AM by Noah4x4 »

Phil HD925

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2019, 02:02:03 PM »
Yep, that image you posted, I was getting exactly the same thing after rolling back to the previous version of the core software (pre Dusk).  The only way I got rid of that was by updating the ASCOM platform to the latest  (6.4 SP1).  That could have been a fluke fix though, so not sure if this would work for everyone. 

Noah4x4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: New Core Software 5.0.0.4 Completely Broke My Horizon OSC
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2019, 03:33:39 PM »
Version 5.0.0.6 has been release today. We seem to have skipped 5.0.0.4.

In a daylight test I have managed to connect my Horizon OSC in Infinity, SG Pro and Sharpcap. However, I am not convinced the camera was capturing any data in Infinity as the histogram was unresponsive and said "no data" when I pointed to the sliders. But I think the required functionality is there in Sharpcap and SG Pro. Am hoping for some clear sky tonight to properly test all, but it looks like encouraging progress.