Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Infinity not working  (Read 1057 times)

neklewin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
Infinity not working
« on: December 03, 2019, 05:02:14 PM »
Recently purchased an Infinity color, it doesn't work.  I loaded the software (made sure I ticked the "drivers" box, and Infinity software) on a Macbook Pro (VMWare and Windows 10) and on my work laptop (Dell, Windows 10).  Here's what happens, regardless of the machine I'm running:  The camera connects and the Camera Connection Status turns green.  Using finder mode or video mode I select the Play button and the Progress Bar tracks the exposure time.  The image field is either all white or all black, no indication of an image.  After a few seconds,  the Progress Bar quits moving, the software has locked up.  No buttons work.  After an additional 30 seconds I receive a Windows message indicating that Infinity has quit responding, and I can choose to shut it down or recover the program.

I made sure all system software on the Mac and Dell are up-to-date.

Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: February 12, 2020, 10:46:52 AM by vince »

anders.stange

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2019, 11:25:23 AM »
Im assuming you have installed the latest version of the core software(5.0.2.0). There seems to be a number of issues in this version.
I suggest you uninstall and then install the 4.2.2.9 version instead to see if this solves you problem. This is what I have done and it is much more stable.

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2019, 01:18:53 PM »
Hello,

The latest version of the core software should work fine with the Infinity, would you mind emailing us at support@atik-cameras.com please then we can investigate further.

Best regards
Vince

Andicap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2020, 09:16:07 PM »
my Infinity not works. i have picture. but the histogram is crap.

to buy this was a fail.

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2020, 01:18:38 PM »
Hello,

Which part of the histogram are you having problems with?

Best regards
Vince

Andicap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2020, 06:42:35 PM »
i have a picture. but the histogram is very weak like the picture is to dark.... no stacking of pictures works.

now i try virtualhere. but then I have a line in the picture. AtikAir is not working anymore since 4.2.2.9

maybe the sensor is not sensitive enough for bright stars.

i install the new 5.0.4.4   atik air is connected after start manualy from install folder.
the picture refreshing. but no picture.

for me it looks the atik Infinity software have focus on the horizon. the expensive infinity crap camera is out of date now.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 02:27:10 PM by Andicap »

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2020, 03:24:10 PM »
Hello,

Sounds strange, the sensor in the Infinity is the most sensitive that Sony make that can be used for amature astronomy, would you mind sending one of your fits files into us at support@atik-cameras.com so we can have a look and get this all working again for you.

Best regards
Vince

Andicap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2020, 04:21:38 PM »
today i try to connect the camera via ascom whit Sharpcap. it looks like working. i will wait for a clear sky for take some pictures. so i can send one.

whit the infinity software i cant capture.  crashes or no pictures.

best regards
Andi

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2020, 01:15:10 PM »
Hi Andi,

Just a thought, with the Infinity software, do you have the 'Image settings' set to 'auto' and something like 'medium' or 'mean SD' ?

Best regards
Vince

Andicap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2020, 04:37:50 PM »
ok. i have no luck whit this camera.
I will dispose of them in electronic waste. as it says in the manual.

i have to look for a alternate.

My Infinity was the first and last Atik Camera.

Thanks  for the 2 months. the Camera was working. Thanks for no support.

« Last Edit: February 08, 2020, 08:21:45 PM by Andicap »

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2020, 01:00:36 PM »
Hello Andi,

SOrry to hear that you are unhappy, it does sound like the camera is working OK as you say you have an image, it sound like an issue with the software. Have you tried emailing our support department? Have you tried the camera using Artemis Capture or Dusk software?
Best regards
Vince

Andicap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2020, 06:07:50 PM »
yes i tried to contact the support
but the only answere is a link to the new software version.
dusk dont work.  infinity software dont work. Artemis Capture works.

im not longer own this camera..

thank you Vince for try to help me.

greetings
Andi

vince

  • Atik Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2020, 10:48:19 AM »
Hello Andi,

Sorry we couldn't sort this one out.

Best regards
Vince

Andicap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Infinity not working
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2020, 04:13:53 PM »
the cheapest ASI120c and Sharpcap solve my Atik problem.
this Camera for 120  works better than this Atik Infinity for 1000.