Atik Cameras

Author Topic: Horizon and Sharpcap via Ascom driver  (Read 361 times)

Pieter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Horizon and Sharpcap via Ascom driver
« on: May 22, 2019, 06:06:55 PM »
I am unable to get Sharpcap Pro to show light from Horizon camera.
Horizon works fine with Infinity software using native driver.
Installed latest Ascom environment on HP Win 10 laptop.  Installed Ascom driver when installing Atik software (from download, not included disk).
Sharpcap pro connects to Horizon, can control cooler, can't get any light.
On another PC (where I have MaximDL) MaximDL connects via Ascom, shows light, but Sharpcap does not.
I will append my Ascom definition of the Horizon below.
Can't tell if this is Horizon problem, Ascom problem, Sharpcap problem (or user error!)
Any clues greatly appreciated.
-Pieter

Create              Creating device
Connected           Connecting to device
                   
Name                Atik Cameras: Atik Horizon (289)
Description         Atik Cameras: Atik Horizon (289)
DriverInfo          ASCOM driver version 7.0.8.25151
Camera Atik Cameras: Atik Horizon (289)
Sensor Name , Type RGGB
ATIK API version 7.41 HSC
DriverVersion       7.0
InterfaceVersion    2
CameraXSize         4644
CameraYSize         3506
BinX                1
BinY                1
MaxBinX             8
MaxBinY             8
HasShutter          False
                   
Connected           Disconnecting from device
Dispose             Disposing of device
Dispose             Completed disposal
ReleaseComObject    Releasing COM instance
ReleaseComObject    Completed release. Count: 0
GC Collect          Starting garbage collection
GC Collect          Completed garbage collection


                    <Default>                 Atik Camera 2
                    BayerOffsetX              1
                    BayerOffsetY              0
                    CheckExposureRange        True
                    HighPriority              False
                    IsColour                  True
                    ReadCoolerInfo            True
                    SetTemperatureEnablesCooling True
                    TargetCcdTemperature      0.0
                    TraceState                False

nigelg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Horizon and Sharpcap via Ascom driver
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 01:20:59 PM »
I am having the same problem with the latest drivers.
Atik cameras are shown in Devise Manager and the new camera chooser. They connect in Infinity, Artimis, SGpro and Sharpcap, but they cannot download an image.

Nigel

Pieter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Horizon and Sharpcap via Ascom driver
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2019, 08:12:16 PM »
I have worked with the Ascom drivers supplied with both core 4.2.2.9 and 5.0.1.2.  With 4.2.2.9 I can get an image in Sharpcap, but only with bin set to 3.  Got an image of Jupiter which is almost presentable, but is pretty ugly due to binning.
No luck at all with the new Ascom driver and Atik supplied picker in 5.0.1.2.  I ran the latter tests on my desktop (Windows 10) since I didn't want to mess up my laptop, so no astro images, only images of a tree outside my window taken through the Horizon attached to a telephoto lens.
5.0.1.2 was a disaster.  Infinity worked, and MaximDL worked (Mxm using the Ascom driver),  and Sharpcap worked at bin3 only.  However, after running through each program once, I returned to Infinity and it crashed. Remarkable, when you consider that Infinity was using the native driver.  Then I returned to Mxm, crash.  Sharpcap crash.  Not pretty.
So, what to do?
At the moment, I think I will install 5.0.1.2 on the laptop because I want to work the issues with support, and think they would probably like me to be running the new software. 
I can't install Mxm on the laptop, limited to 2 copies, so I will wait until I can run actual astrophotographical tests with Mxm in my observatory (on a Win 7 machine).
I'm very disappointed about Sharpcap, and hope that Atik will get the Ascom driver working.

nigelg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Horizon and Sharpcap via Ascom driver
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2019, 11:57:23 AM »
Pieter
Have you been able sort this problem with Atik.